Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Fully constrained - how to tell?

KrisR

I come froma background in various 3D packages, but can't seem to tell when a sketch is fully constrained or underconstrained in ProE....I'm new to ProE.

Please advise and thank you!

Yes, sketches are always fully constraineddue to assumed constraints. 99% of the time these assumptions do not match design intent though so you end up having to create your own dimensioning/constraint scheme. As you constrain a sketch, the auto-populated dimensions and constraints which show in 'gray' will begin to disappear. When they are all gone, you are in complete control of the design.

Thank you TG. I saw how many people viewed this post and you were the only one to respond. I'm used to a rather friendly and active user forum coming from SW. Thanks again.

Hi Chris,
You may also want to consider just how you put lines and curves into your sketch as this determines how ProE applies its automatic constraints and this can save you lots of time.

For example if you want a rectangle symmetrical about a centre point you add two orthogonal centrelines first then use the rectangle tool and as you get to around the symmetrical size you will see these constraints pop up. Very quick once you know them and well worth playing around to see just what works.

There are lots of tips and tricks for constraining your sketch so I thought I would give you a few.