Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Did I give up too quickly?

jrdramey

I'm a college student who has about a year of experience with Inventor 2013 Pro. I'm always looking to add new knowledge, and I like using design/modelling/CAE software, so I got to looking around and I noticed that students can get Creo 2.0 for free...so I decided to check it out.

I was initially impressed by how the program looks; yeah, the UI is a little clunky, but not too bad; I like how one can click on a model function, setup parameters for the part, sketch a profile, click OK and it's done...instead of having to switch environments like in Inventor.

Then...I tried to actually model a part...just for fun. I watched the video on helical sweep and tried to model the spring exactly as shown in the video. No go...five error messages all stating that the sketch is not appropriate. I tried all last weekend just to fix one damned sketch. I gave a good ol' southern holler and uninstalled the software, haha!

I'll probably go ahead and install it again after I get over my aggravation, so does anyone know where I might be able to get a little extra help on this than PTC's half-ass videos or their learning center that one has to pay for?

Thanks

Thank you. Hopefully I can gain at least a nominal understanding of this software because I'm on my own on this one.

I do not see it necessary to pay at this moment for basic knowledge you are up to gain by yourself.

Intermidiate or advanced knowledge related to AAX or Surface Modeling are good areas such "pay for help" I would consider, and if so I would refuse PTC trainings, selecting something focused directly on expert experience, one I suppose i.e. Design Engine represents(and I am not payed for saying this:)).