Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Default Coordinate system - can not view

Reetu

Hi,
I am a beginner to Proe wildfire 4.0. I had recently installed this software on my computer. I wanted to generate some solid parts to get familiarize with the program but I can not do it. The default coordinate system is not viewed on the model display screen and when i tried to sketch something, it gives me the following message.

When constraint is displayed: Right click to disable it. Press Shift + right click to lock it. Use Tab key to toggle active constraint.

How do I get the default coordinate system (x,y,z axis, front, top ,right planes)

Also would like to know if it is part of the installation settings or should I do anything to get this viewed on the model display screen.

I was trying to just generate a solid part with using extrusion feature. I first clicked on the sketch icon and picked the front plane to sketch. Then I click on the rectangle to draw but gets this message again. Please explain the procedure if I am doing anything wrong.

When you click to start a new file, select "Part" instead of "Sketch". It will start with the default coordinate system and planes. Then you can either make a sketch on a plane first to use in your extrusion, or you can select the extrusion feature first, and create a sketch within thefeature to extrude. I'd recommend the second method.

Also, the help files are useful when just starting out. They'll explain the basics of creatingeach feature.

Hi CRang72..I always open a new file by selecting part, solid and give it a name and then I dont see any default coordination system. Is this a problem with the software that i installed or are there any settings where I can fix this.