Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Creating a rim around a box

HLX2177

I'm a beginner to Solidworks and am having a hard time figuring out something that seems like it should be simple to do.I'vecreated a box 5x5x5 and I want to create a rim that goes around the entire box andis extrudedthe same distance (say 1/4 inch) around the box and is connected as one piece around the edges of the box. Imagine the rim around a square piece of tupperware.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
HLX

If it's a flat rim then you can use the extrude tool, first sketch the lip and then extrude it up. Or you can do a sweep if the rim is more complicated, like a tupperware rim. With the sweep, you will need to sketch the profile and then the sweep path in a seperate sketch.

Thanks michael. So I guess the part I'm having a problem with is that I've got my box created and I've sketched the lines for the lip on each side.When I extrude the lines upthey extrudeout and don't connect together at the edges. Is there a way to connect the lines so that when I extrude it applies to all sides at once and thenconnects the extrusions together so it's just one lip all the way around? I'm used to working with Softimage XSI for 3D modelling and this is really simple for me in that program butin SW it works totally different.

Thanks again for all yourhelp!
HLX

HLX,

Can you post a picture of either what you have or what you want? I'm having a tough time figuring out what your sketch looks like. Do you have 1 sketch for each side? This lip should be easily created with a single feature, whether its an extrusion or a sweep...

Jim