Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Basic animation questions

teller2010

Hello all,

I am pretty new to Pro/E (really just use it to open models from supplier, then convert them to what we need in a polygonal format).

I have been told that an assembly has animation in it, but can't get it to play, so I am trying to determine if I indeed have the animation data. Is there a certain animation file that is external to the .asm and .prt files, or is the animation embedded?

When I go to Applications > Animation, I see nothing in the animation timeline. However, I do see servo motors in the viewport around the object that I assume is animated.

I have tried to follow a couple basic animation tutorials to see if I can discover anything, but those tutorials cover making my own animation, not loading/analyzing/running someone else's animation.

Is there any telltale way of knowing there's animation data? (Obviously, if the supplier SAYS it's there, that's a sign....but I'm looking for other options...supplier is not very helpful besides telling me it's there).

Thanks,

Eric

I suppose the "animation" is supposed to be a servomotor included in assembly. Just go to the mechanism, run servomotor and then watch recorded animation

Thanks for the reply. I went to applications > Mechanism, and then under "SERVO" on the left hand side of the screen, I added the motors one at a time. Is that what you intended by your instructions? I think tried to run an analysis, but it told me "assembly failed".

Any other thoughts?

Thanks!

I think You should have already this stuff placed - servo motors and connections

Mechanism > Analises > New > Run

then You can watch recorded animation

Mechanism > Playback

if it does not work, then there are some issues to consider: