Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Assistance with ghosting?

goater

hello all, i am somewhat new to the firm i am working for and am facing this situation:

we use pro/e only very rarely, but it is still an imporant entity for us. it is version 2001. the license server is a 10 year old compaq running windows NT. there is only one other computer in the company that uses pro/e, which of course targets the NT license server. the license server is named GATES, so the pro/e computer targets 7788@GATES to connect and find the license file or whatever, 7788 being port im assuming?

realizing that the server will not last forever, we purchased an almost identical refurbished computer, a compaq SP750, only things different being the processor (faster by about 300mhz), hard drive (old pc used a scsi drive, this one is an IDE) and RAM. at least, off the top of my head those are the only physical hardware differences. the intent was to ghost the old server's HD to the new refub computer's HD and if anything in the old server died, just unplug the computer, set it off to the side, and plug in the new one and everything would be exactly the same since it is a ghosted hard drive.

well, the ghost worked fine, pc booted up and all that jazz.

however, when i try to get the user's computer to connect, it comes up with the error "no server for this feature" and it is targeting "7788@gates" and the next line says "Displaying status for license file: 9018dfs6k064"

when i try to run PRO/E on the license server computer, however, it says almost exactly the same thing, except it says: "no server for this feature" and it is targeting "7788@9018dfs6k064" and the
next line says "Displaying status for license file: 9018dfs6k064"