Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Another Creo Newb looking for advice

TheNinjaStyle

I'm new to Creo and using the 'Foundation Adv" license. I need some recommendations for a book or two to help get me started. I'm one of those people that are used to SW and Inventor, heck I find modeling in Acad easier right now :confused: :mad: :(

It seems like Creo has a huge amount of options and youtube and PTC videos haven't done me much good. With all the available options it has to be robust so there must be potential; and I hate to be the speed bump in the way of productivity during the design process.

I have a handle on the modeling basics, but any recommendations for books should definitely be for a beginner.

One more quick question, I can't find the option to break all of the references in a part that was designed in the context of an assembly, like break adaptivity or associativity, the reference viewer does not help me.

How can I break these references without redefining or losing information. Like, for example, if I had created Part C using the surface of Part A as a sketch plane and extruded it to the surface of Part B, and projecting Part A's sides as my sketch... how can I make Part C no longer dependent on the other parts for it's geometry to be created.

Thanks for any advice :D

Ive found people with 20 thousand hours can model stuff but they don't really know basics like selection tools.... they turn off the selection tools from smart etc. You can learn so much from having someone that knows the tool help you... sit next to you. There is so much to learn. Lucky for you many of the icons are similar to SW