Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Absolute beginner!! Need misc info!?/

johnny916

Ok I am taking a Pro/Engineer class at my local community college in Sacramento, CA.. Don't have any mechanical engineer experience or classes yet but very interested in the field.

My question is:
1. Can one person really invent whatever they wish with 3D modeling?? I mean, you know how software takes a team of 10-20+ people to design anything useful, is this the same with Pro/Engineering and/or 3D modeling programs in general?

2. If I am using the student edition then wish to have my work fabricated one day into a prototype, will I need to purchase a commercial copy? From a standpoint of giving it to a fabricator.

3. Is there anyone who I can talk to (phone) just to get a feel of what the industry is like and guide me in the right direction?

Hi jonny916. Welcome to the forum. To try and answer a little to your qustions.

1. If you can think it up and have the know how of how things work you can create great things with Pro-E. Pro-E is just a 3d software, so it is just a tool. The rest of the design comes from you! Be aware that you are able to design a part in a 3d cad system that could be practically impossible to manufacture. Check out this site from Leo Greene. He has some of his inventions and some tutorials that you may find interesting.

http://www.e-cognition.net/

2. You have the option to export out a 3d file (iges or step file) that can be read by other systems. We call these dumb files because they do not maintain the features of your original model.