Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

3D scanned models

daniella

hi,

I am a third year engineering student doing my dissertation on ankle implants. I will be 3D scanning plastic bone models and then do fea analysis on it. apparently one can now do fea in proE 5 and was wondering what format to 3d scan into? stl or iges? anyone able to help me which format is best?

thanks

I think you will have problems running an FEA on STL data as it is tessellated data. I would have thought you'd need to scan in the plastic bone with a point cloud and then build up the surfaces and finally solidify your model.

Yea, PJW is right. The STL data can be brought in and then shrink wrapped to create a solid model but it would better to use a point cloud and build up the surfaces.

I did some work with a doctor trying to convert the STL files into usually data for plastic surgery purposes but we didn't have much luck using ProE.

Daniella, you need a software, Rapidform or Geomagic, to
convert the STL to solid model/native format. The new
version of Rapidform suppose to convert point cloud to ProE
solid model directly with model history. There are a lot
of companies out there who will promise everything but they
are waste of time. You need a lot of money, 100K plus, to
get a good system. Make the model yourself or contact
Direct Dimension and seek mercy. Better yet, ask Rapidform
or Geomagic... Good luck.