Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

5-axis milling

Robber

Hello

Does anyone out there know of any information on 5-axis milling?

I have went through all of the cast and documentaion that is inside of Nx.

It is pretty vauge they give you basically page one and I would like to know pages 2-100.

Right now I am using Nx5 but have access to any version.

Thank you

Robber

Robber

I have been using NX for several years doing simultaneous 5-axis milling. What is it you are trying to find? If you are looking for documentation within CAST or what is provided to tell you how to do 5-axis milling, you can forget it. In my opinion this is one of the voids within the documentation.

Larry

Larry,

Iam looking for something that goesinto5-axis with a lot more detail. It has always been the same it seems as far as documentation in Unigraphics. They seem to only cover the bare basics. You ask them about it and they claim that everybody uses it with no problem. The company I used to work for puchased another cam software because of this and I tell you whatit blew Ug out of the water and we only did 3-axis machining at the time.

One of my main questions to start would be is there any kind of roughing template for 5-axis or is it basically something on the lines of 2+3 then only finishing with 5-axis?

I have lots of questions but maybe time will tell the answers.

As far as your question John I have Ugs muti axis manual and tequnics manual but to me it does not go deep enough.Sequential milling to me seems like alot of work. I build plastic injection molds and it sure seems like it would take forever and a day to program this way.

Thanks for your time

Robber

thank you

Robber,