Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Trouble with Surface Thickening

jdw5076

I am relatively new to the surfacing controls in SolidWorks. I am working on a Barge Board for a 1:5 Scale Formula 1 RC car that I am building. I scanned a 1:24 model of the car with a Digitizer and collected a whole bunch of data points. I then go in and essentially draw grid lines and either do a loft or a surface loft/boundary surface then thicken.

However, with this particular part, I created 3 Boundary Surfaces. I then go to thicken them with the Boss/Base Thicken button. I can thicken 2 of the 3 surfaces but with Boundary-Surface2, it Thickens and creates a raised point that is not there in the Sketches.

I was hoping someone could take a look at it and show me what to do or just do it for me. Like I said, I am very new to surfacing in SolidWorks and do not want to spend hours and hours on this which is probably something simple to fix. I attached the file (its in SolidWorks 2010) for you to take a look at. Thanks.2010-08-04_072846_Barge_Board.zip

Hey,

You cannot save files in SolidWorks as an older format. However, I saved it as 3 different formats [Parasolid(.x_t), Parasolid Binary(.x_b), IGES(.igs)]. You can then open it in SolidWorks 2009 and then use the Feature Recognition Module and it should rebuild the Feature Tree. I hope this works.2010-08-05_072821_Barge_Board.zip

JD,

Can you provide us a screenshot of what geometry you are getting? The import worked for me, but the feature recognition did not. So now I have 3 surface bodies. I have colored them in the order in which they appear in the feature tree: red, green, blue. Which one is giving you trouble?

View attachment 5850