Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

HELP Please-Simp. Rep tutorial In WF 5.0?

wesalauzen

I am new to WF 5 and this new simplified rep interface has me all mixed up. I do not have access to training and could really use some help.

I am used to WF 2 being able to start with a top level assembly and pick away parts I don't want, or exclude the whole list (in the model tree) and pick just what I want out of the model in the main window (with the model still being viewable).

I am also used to being able to right click on a component until I have what I need regarding level of assembly (click up the tree to theneeded level assembly of the component I am highlighting).

Also valuable was the ability to set a rep active and then modify another rep starting from the point of the active rep (works if I excluded something that I didn't mean to, just set a more complete rep active that includes the part I accidentally removed, then include that part).

With the new interface, I can select multiple items in the "main window" similarly to what I had done in the past, but once I get back to the list, it seems I can only work with one item at a time in the tree, once I change the status of one item, all my other selections go away.

Also, It appears I can select items in the rep window, but I cannot right click on an item to select higher level assemblies as I could before. I have to work one component at a time and select from list to grab the right level of assembly, then change the rep status.

I work in Tech Pubs doing parts illustrations and the like. Seems like this is a huge step backward in that it adds complexity, but does not maintain simple,efficient functionality...

Please tell me I'm wrong and that I just need to learn the interface.