Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

wildfire 5.0 drawing dashboard

design-engine

what do you guys think of the new dashboard interface instituted by Microsoft....

PTC adopted this for the Pro/DETAIL interface and I have to admit it's on the annoying side. I've been using proe since 1992 and I don't want to take a look to see what column I'm in before I start to move a dimension around.

comments?
Edited by: design-engine

Hate it in MS orifice 2007. You can not modify it! I never need to see mailmerge and 90% of the other garbage that MS insists on putting up, gobbling up valuable screen real estate. I understand orifice 2010 is better, you can customize it.

PTC's implementation is even worse than MS's. I will not be using WF5 specifically for this reason. Horizontal ribbons are moronic on wide screen monitors. Maybe MS & PTC are still stuck on 16" CRT's?

design-engine said:
what do you guys think of the new dashboard interface instituted by Microsoft....

comments?

I already commented at length about how BAD the ribbon is in Wildfire. On the plus side it's quite configurable, but what annoys me is that the interface is too "modal", and interferes also with the right mouse button context menu

Good topic Bart,

If PTC gave us an option to truly customize it then it would not be that awful. Once again it seems ProE has written itself into a corner m much like it did when deciding on forcing object action only selection methods. ProE is probably the only CAD software that still refuses to allow floating toolbars which can be un-docked and returned by double clicking or dragging them from or to the toolbar areas.