Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Twisted-Shielded Pair in RSD vs Pro/CABLE

SpaceRouter9

In RSD, when I route wires (Fibers) from pins (Ports) on a connector (Variable Group) to pins (Ports) on a different connector (Variable Group) then export an .xml file to Pro/CABLE,my wires route nicely.

But when I take two of the wires (Fibers) in RSD and create a Cable and add a Decoration (thus creating a twisted-shielded pair), the wires do not get created in Pro/CABLE.

I am new to RSD and I suspect I am missing a fundamental step here like failing to define something either in RSD or in Pro/CABLE. Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong to make Cabled Fibers inRSD N-O-T get created in Pro/CABLE?

Thanks for any help!

Did you apply a cable dataset and associated membermap to the cable? If not, that's probably why Cabling design didn't pick it up.

There is a Validate button you can press in the Export to XML dialog to check the data you're exporting is valid for Cabling or Piping design.

There is a section in the RSD help that covers datatables/datasets for cables.

Regards,

Martin

Martin,

Thanks for the reply.

Yes, the problem here was my failure to define the Cable datatable and associated membermap. After many hours of reading, I have figured that out. Being a newbie, I was unaware of that cumbersome support file structure. (Why RSD lets me create a Cable in 2-D that doesn't export properly into 3-D is a whole 'nother question!)

My next hurdle is the Mult-level Cables: wrapping a varying number of 2-wire Cables (my twisted shielded pairs) along with some individual wires (fibers). I've discovered the Multi-level cable datatable heirarchy (a 4-file beast!) and am working my way through setting that up now.

Here's a question for which you may have an answer:

Situation: