Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Cutting from a solid using surfaces

Checkmate

hi, this is a download i got off the ptc website from the resourse center under detail and advanced geometry, it is one of their exapmles of what can be done with variable sweep sections. i have been trying to copy it to improove my skills as i am a bit of a novice but it does not come with instructions as to how it was made and i have got stuck and not understood a few bits so i was wondering if anybody might be able to help me.

also i am using wildfire 2.0 and i am pretty sure that the part is suposed to have been created in 2.0 also as it is shown in a window with exaples of tutorials during the 2.0 instalation and setup.

this is the downloaded part i am copying, a five iron.

and this is where i have got stuck. there is a cut made from the solid using a boundary blended surface and a variable sweep section which have be merged. i have tryied experimenting with most of the tool but can't find what have been used? have you got any ideas?

also going backwards there where a couple of bits i didn't understand and couldn't find how they where done also so i just skipped them out. do they matter do they affect this cut? in this one the surface seems to have been quilted as a feature, what does this do and what tool does it? the only tool i know for quilting is under view>model setup>mesh surface> quilt but this is only until the view is repainted and not a surface feature.