Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Need advice on laptop

Hey
I recently got a new laptop. I am an engineering student at florida tech, and purchased proE for my private use...so i needed a computer to run it. The new Sony Vaio laptop (VGN-AX570G) is amazing. The processor is only a pentium M (which i cringed at when i decided to get this computer) but the RAM (2GB) and video card (ATI Radeon X700-256MB) more than make up for the processor. The processor speed is at 1.86GHz. You wont even notice a difference between that and 2.2GHz. In my opinion, pentium 4's put out way too much heat, which will ultimately slow your system anyway. Because of this, many pentium 4 laptops are unstable.---too much heat, too little space.
I run proE, 5 or 6 drawings at a time, with at least 4 OTHER programs running, and this computer handles it like a champ. No lagging, freezing, crashing. The machine is superb. Plus, it has two 80GB hard drives for a total of 160GB...which is unheard of in laptops. Also, has a removable DVD/CD bay that can be replaced with the included Video Capture card, or another hard drive.
I build custom computers, and this is one of the best off the shelf laptops ive seen.

Thats my two cents
-Dan

Edited by: Dstempel

Hello

I was in your shoes a couple of months ago and went for the Alieware rig MJ12-7700 mobile workstation.

SPecs :

MJ-12M 7700
AREA-51M 7700 D900T GREY 17" WSXGA+ W/ CAM
INTEL PENTIUM 4 550 3.4 1MB L2 CACHE 800MHZ FSB LGA775
SAMSUNG 2 GB DDR2 4200 SO-DIMM LEAD FREE
HITACHI NOTEBOOK 60GB 7200RPM HD
MJ-12 M NVIDIA QUADRO FX GO 1400 FOR 7700 WITH 256MB MODULE
W-NWEB 802.11ABG INTERNAL MINI PCI WIRELESS ADAPTER
AREA-51M 7700 8X DVD+/-RW NEC
USB FLOPPY DRIVE 7700
INTEL MOBILE INTEGRATED HIGH-DEFINITION AUDIO
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP PROFESSIONAL OEM