Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Pro/E and Jlink ?’s

pageld

Alright. After many hours of toil and trouble, I would like to find out if this is even possible. Keep in mind, I'm a programmer, not an engineer and I don't use pro/E regularly at all.

The goal is to find and replace custom part numbers in a pro/E drawing.

Right now what happens is someone selects specific parameters about a product. This information is then used to create a trail file by doing some text replacing of a base trail file.

The trail file is then run through an automated process that makes the drawing for the product. This process adds parts needed to manufacture this product and some of these parts are custom, they have widths and heights that change based on the selected parameters.

These 'custom' parts have part numbers that start with the product name so they can be found inside the drawings and logic that is built.

Is it possible to find these 'custom' parts, go to an already built java program to get a list of part numbers and replace the original name of the part with the actual part number? If it is, how is it done?

Hopefully I kept everything simple enough to be understood. Maybe it was too simple
smiley1.gif

I did try the supplied tutorial; I took many Excedrin trying to understand it. If there are any other tutorials I can

Dave,

I'm not sure exactly what you are asking. Are you asking to replace parts on a drawing or just rename existing ones?

Why are you using a trail file to create the drawing? Pro/TOOLKIT has API's to do that and everything else you want to do. For a couple simple tutorials go to www.frotime.com.

the goal is to rename existing parts.