Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Pro/E Ease of Use /

student1

I am a student looking for some information about Pro/E to include in a Research Paper. In the paper I am including a comparison study between Pro/E and SolidWorks. I have a couple of quick questions below. I am hoping to get a decent response to the questions I have here.

1. On a scale of 1-10, with 1 being the most difficult and 10 being the easiest how would you rate Pro/E'sease of use?

2. What training courses did you complete, or what do you feel is necessary to become efficient in Pro/E?

Thanks. I hope you all have a Happy HolidaySeason.

I believe Pro E is easy to use, but what is expected is not easy to do.... I will give it a 5 rating..

I took a couple of courses at the tech to get a head start, but it will take years of experince to become very efficient at it, because it is a very versile tool and can be customized per user. It has alot of options that you have to play with to become good at them all..

I would say that intent manager was a big step in user friendly. The pattern feature in WF2 is leaps an bound better than it used to be also... I have been a user since 2000i...

I have been a user since 2000i and WF2 is a huge leap ahead. However changing to WF meant that we all required major hardware changes to our graphics cards and hardware.

We had graduate engineers starting with us that have only used Solid works before and have found the terminology the hardest to come to grips with. However they have all mentioned how powerful it is once the fundamentals have been mastered.

I would tend to believe that WF2 has the edge on Solid works at the moment but WF does have some dreadful configurations, shelling out to notepad looking screens to configure it! (ie print/plot pens).