Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Rip and Edge cuts?

kumaichi

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the sheetmetal world and looking for some help with rip and edge cuts. Below is a picture of a sheetmetal part I'm trying to make. It's the base for a machine so that I can catch coolant. It's tilted toward the front so I can direct the spent coolant to a reseviour. It's only the first part, I still need to make the flat areas around the base.

Anyway, I started with a solid model because I couldnt' figure out how to make the part in sheetmetal so I just converted the solid to sheetmetal which worked suprisingly well. Now I have my sheetmetal pan but I need to insert rip and edge cuts so I can flatten it out.

I tried creating an edge cut and by selecting one of the edges leading from the top down to the bottom, seemed pretty simple, select the edge I would like cut. I get the following error:

Could not construct feature geometry.

Since that didn't work, I thought I'd try a rip cut along the base flat piece at the edge I was trying to select. I go into sketcher, draw my line from corner to corner and I get the same error.

Could someone please help a newbie to create the cuts to flatten my sheetmetal part?

Thanks in advance,

Craig

The part file can be found here in case I did something wrong:

2005-10-02_182835_Base.zip

basesolid.jpg

The error is caused by the sheetmetalpart geometry, not an incorrect cutfeature. If you look at your model in wireframe, there should always be a white and a green side. On your model, there are areashaving green on both sides! This is the cause of your problems

Solve this by changing order of the smt conversion:

1. Create a shell feature (t=0.06) before going to SMT

2. Concert by defining driving surface