Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Different color regions

AdrianHomutescu

Hi, I'm new to the stuff so I bow my head before the rendering proffesionals. How can I define on parts regions that would later be assigned different colors? A beer cap logo for instance, comprising several geometrical areas, texts and so on. That would be without extruding anything or creating new features like quilts. I tried sketching my design as cosmetic, but then Pro Appearance Editor did not allow me to select the regions created inside the sketch. Can I use different "paints" for sketched different loops?

there are a couple of ways of doing itreally...

I read a tutorial one by John Randazzo (I hope I spelled his name right, sorry John if not!
smiley36.gif
) and what he suggessted was to create an offset of the surface (very small amount, like say .1mm), then sketch on top of that the shape that you want to colour and trim the surface..

I'll see if I can find the tutorial, I think it was in profiles mag..

http://www.profilesmagazine.com/p29/tips_randazzo.html

there is a new one here as well, havent read it yet though..

http://www.profilesmagazine.com/p30/baggett.html

hope this helps

James

Thanks for the links for now. It is a pitty, but the browser could not retrieve the URL's. What is inconvenient regading the surface trimming is that a certain surface cannot be trimmed with several loops at a time. Let's say you spelled a word and you want to trim a surface with it. You are allowed one active loop (an "n" or an "r" for instance"), and the rest is gone. So, though working, this method proves too painstaking and unreliable for more than a few loops.

Have a nice weekend and thanks again for your post. Adrian