Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

I need your opinion please

delphi

2 years ago, I graduated from university with a Mechanical Engineer degree and I took 1 Pro/E course and 1 SolidWorks course when I was in school. I love to work with CAD. Since I graduated, I could not find any Mechanical job related, so I've been working as an IT Administrator (Network Engineer) for a telecom company.

However, I passion about CAD and working with CAD still there. Should I go back school to take few more courses about Pro/E and Solidworks and do some self-study of Pro/E and Solidworks? SHould I go back to do Mechanical work related? Will the Pro/E salary better than my IT job? Is it easy to find job with Pro/E?

Please give me your opinion. THanks

Hello I'm a pro user. There is plenty of work out there, the problem you have is

experience you will need to try to get in at an entry level position some place.

If you are willing to move you have more chances to get a good entry level position.

Hello Delphi,

You might want to look into getting the student version of Pro/E and/or Solidworks to develop your skills better and retain what you already know (assumimg you can still get it at your school).

I think there are alot more Mechanical CAD jobs vs IT CAD jobs out there. One person from this forum, Ben Loosbi (sp?, apologize Ben), I think is a IT CAD Administator that provides a wealth of knowledge to this forum, maybe you could give a shout out to him.

Good Luck

Brian

smiley32.gif