Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Sheet Metal Newbie... Please Help

MartinBooker

Guys and Gals,

I'm a sheet metal newbie but have been asked to produce the following part, which I'm struggling with....

This is what I want to start with.....

View attachment 496

And then roll it to form a tube like this......

View attachment 497

And then finally fold the "petals" over like this.....

View attachment 498

I can get it to roll as in the second picture but cant find anyway to fold the end as per the last pic (Which I fudged together as a solid).

I'm running Wildfire 2.. Can anyone help ??????
smiley4.gif

What if you would bend each of the petals "90 Deg"in the first flat view, then roll the part as the final feature?

Could you create the bend for the tub first, unbend the roll.... create smalle straight cuts for a straight surface to then create the walls individually as you would a normal flat wall with radius....

Not sure if it will produce the exact result.. but it will be close. Otherwise you could use some of the advanced features however it may not unbend in a "real world" situation.

Did you try with it in the final state its in now to use a rip for a break

in the shetmetal the unfold it.

Basically instead of modeling it in sheetmetal model it in part design

then import it into sheetmetal (make sure of constant wall thickness)

give it a driving surface (green surf) and see if it comes in, then do

a rip relief and unfold it.

it is very difficult with proe to handle such parts, because they are made to be constructed with molding methods in the industry as you know and not with traditional simple methods, simple bends i mean.

you can try to build the part as fogs told above and try to unbend it using Xsec driven method but iam not sure that it will work....