Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Pro/E, AutoCAD, Catia, need feedback

jvf-design

Here is my problem. I am a pro/e user for 5 years now. I just started a new job and the company uses autocad 3D. I do not want to go back to autocad. the company is thinking about catia. can anyone give me feedback for pro's or con's? Or should I just try to fight for Pro/e. They are only going to buy 2 seats of a new software. Thanks

let them know that if they purhcase Pro there training cost would be less since you already know the package.

I have found that it can be ery hard to convince upper managent on software if they already have an idea of what theythink thay need or want

my 2 cents

Tell your boss the cheapest seat of Catia is $14,000 vs $4995 for Wildfire

(and you could definitely get it cheaper than $4995).

I don't know exactly what comes in Catia for that price but it all depends on what your company needs are.

Very good points, I want to advise the company what is best for them AND ME. If learning catia makes me more valuable, then I will push for catia, but I never hear much about it. Has anyone used it?

My 2 cents:

CATIA V4 is a horrible beast of patchworks, completely non intuitive menus and modeling design. It is however the tool of choice for Aircraft designers like Boeing and Lockheed owing to the close relationship IBM and Dassault have with them in terms of programming specifically for their needs. It takes 5 to 10 times as long to learn how to be productive on CATIA V4 as it does Pro/E.

CATIA V5 is slightly better. Its windows based and a little more intuitive but the modeling techniques are the same and MANY of their add on packages such as the tubing package does not yet work well with V5 and some just don't work at all yet.