Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Smarteam vs pro/intralink

ksboo79

has anyone here heard of or used smarteam? developed by IBM claimed to have the same capability as intralink and much more as in viewing files from other solid modeling packages. i've never used intralink before, but the company is pushing us to improve on project colaboration. i'd like know how well this software handle proe files compared to the one offered by ptc. i've gone through some of the threads on intralink, pretty same things the sales person was telling us what this thing can do. any comments or comparisons about these softwares available??

I 've seen a small demo on Smarteamand it looked nice. I'm waiting to have a demo on Intralink.

The one deciding factor so far is a $1000.00 difference in price.

Smarteam $3000.00

Intralink $2000.00

I don't know about maintenance

If you're strictly a Pro/E shop then I'd stay with Intralink. A single site license is included with most Pro/E seats. Also, you don't actually need an Intralink client license for every seat of Pro/E (although it would be nice). You only really need to tie up a license when you are are accessing the common space.

One reason for staying with Intralink is that it can read/write parameter information directly from Pro/E files. I don't think Smarteam can do that.

However, if by collaboration you're looking to involve people in other parts of the company like purchasing, sales, etc. then Intralink won't get you very far. You'd be looking at some version of the Windchill product line which PTC seams to reinvent with new bundles and product names about as often as most people change socks.

-Bernie-

Stay away from SmarTeam!