Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

AutoCAD--bad word, but need to be able to import pro/e files

jvf-design

Hope someone can help, I am a pro/e designer and love it. My new company is using AutoCAD 2002. Is there anyway that I can design and use pro/e but have others be able to do something with it in AutoCAD. I have tried most of the exports but is there a certain way to do it and a export file that works best? Need help fast otherwise I will have to go back to AutoCAD and I do not want to do that.

Thanks

John

Hello,

You can save a drw file as DWG (R13) file. And you can import dwg file back to Pro/E. This operation is valid for drawings or sketches only.

I am working in firm with same problem. I am user of Pro/E 2001.

For export from Pro/E to dwg use save copy

For impor from AutoCAD to Pro/E use import.

Best regards

Ladislav Nemecek

CAD Designer

I have done this and the AutoCAD guys say they can not do anything with it. They would like to be able to work with it a little bit, maybe some modifications.

John

I do not know what AutoCAD guys can do, but I can modify the most entities of exported documents.

For exemple, I attached a imported file from Pro/E to AutoCAD.

I did anything with this document.

I used Pro/E 2001 and AutoCAD 2002

We used AutoCAD for years to detail Pro/E drawings before Pro Detail existed (and for a couple more years before it was any good). You can do everything with an exported dwg or dxf file that AutoMAD can do. Which means doing everything manually, one line at a time like the worthless electronic etch-a sketch it is.

I used save a copy -> chose format dwg -> save.

That is all.

Best regards

Ladislav Nemecek

CAD Designer

Do your colleagues require 2D or 3D? If 3d you can save a copy