Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Best way to cut a 50mm hole?

kumaichi

Hi,

I'm new to Pro/E Manufacturing and was wondering what the best way to cut a 50mm hole in the part below. I tried using the Hole menus and it only drilled a whole. I'm trying to use a 13mm end mill so it only made a 13mm whole.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Craig

View attachment 95

Dear Kumaichi,

There are many ways to cut this hole but it depends on quite a bit. First of all are you using a solid piece of metal or a casting?

If you are using a solid piece of metal, first rough out the material using a pocket routine. Then go in and finish the profile using the same pocket routine except in the parameters, change your scan type to profile only.

If you are using a casting, just use the profile example from above. Hope this helps!

Christopher

Thanks Christopher, let me give that a try. I'm actually cutting the peice out of a solid peice of billet aluminum that is 150mm x 150mm x 13mm.

I'm not sure what my sequence should be, like I said, I'm kind of new at this but I though I'd start by cutting the whole out.

Thanks again,

Craig

Craig,

First are you trying to do this with one tool or two. If I was doing this hole I would rough drill the hole with a spade drill leaving stock for finishing. Then if the application would allow I would bore to size. If boring is not an option then I would mill to size. This hole could also be milled to size if you were only using one tool but cycle time would be much longer.

cncwhiz,

Right now, my tooling is kind of limited so I will probably just be using end mills, I have an assortment up to almost 1 so I can switch tools but it will still be an end mill :-(.