Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Pro/Mechanica 2001 vs ANSYS DesignSpace 7.0

Israr

I want comparison of Pro/Mechanica 2001 and ANSYS Design Space 7.0

I solved an assembly structural analysis on both of these but I observed there was more flexibility in DesignSpace than in Pro/Mechanica.

Any comments.

Israr

DesignSpace works well for us as well. It also has a much more diverse upgrade path if options other than basic FEA are needed.

While I have no experience with Mechanica, I must agree with Brian_Adkins and martyball.

We use both DesignSpace and Ansys Mechanical 7.0 in production (and have 7.1 in test with WF and 3.3) and

we are very happy with both of them - especially DesignSpace.

DesignSpace has one of, if not the most, user -friendly, intuitive GUI's I've seen I my almost 18 years in CAD and the ability to perform design studies is a big plus for us.

Brad Hacker

ME CAD Admin

Zebra Technologies Corp.

Not wanting to disparage this Forum at all, but if you want some really good advice on comparing the capabilities of various FEA systems, etc, you might want to check out Dermot Monaghan's FEA Portal at:

www.DermotMonaghan.com

Post your query on the Your Questions link - the people who hang around there (including Dermot Monaghan himself) have a wealth of knowledge and experience of all sorts of FEA software.