Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Pro/E Resume

branch22

I am a machine designer currently learning Pro/E and I fill that

now is a time to update my resume with some Pro/E stuff. However, I don't quite understand how Pro/E could be used for machine design. Please give me some ideas of what I can put on my resume in connection with Pro/E.

Thank you in advance, branch

If you do not understand how Pro/E is used for machine design, you probably should not put it on your resume! I would put your actual experience with Pro/E, like basic modeling and detailing. If you bluff on your resume you will get called on it sooner or later. With experience as a machine desiger, and basic Pro/E skills you should be able to get into some pretty good jobs that are right up your alley. And someone will probably hire you and give you the training you need to do machine design on Pro/E.

Here is my story. I have 20+ years of experience as a Mechanical Design Engineer (machine design). Most of machines I ever designed were designed from scratch.

When you are staring at empty screen it is really hard to think about 3D modeling. The usual design flow is: small sketch (on a napkin) - machine layout - assembly drawings - detail drawings. Now I believe you can create solid models, put them together into assembly, etc. That is why I really don't understand how Pro/E could be used for the process I just described. Anyway I like your idea about putting basic modeling and detailing on my resume. That created another question - what is the purpose of having solid models for the parts? And by the way, nobody wants to hire me so far with or without Pro/E.