Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Solidworks v ProEngineer v Catia etc

DBenz

Hi,<?:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><O:p></O:p>
<O:p></O:p>
I have need of drawing up historical non flying aircraft and wonder if I should use Rhino, or Catia V5 or Solidworks or autocad etc.<O:p></O:p>
SW unlike autocad has parametric update ability I gather, this would be useful !.It must be easy and intuitive to learn. Can SW do the following or am I better off with ProEngineer or Catia ...I am a beginner to CAD, only experienced in 2D macromedia Freehand 9 and I did dabble with 3DsMax ?<O:p></O:p>

I am having to draw up an aircraft armed with some GA drawings giving datums, locations of fuselage frames, wing spar, rudder hinge line, thrust line, canopy leading and trailing edge, wheel hub positions etc, real skeletal stuff. Its enough to draw side view and plan view outlines except for fillets. I also have site photos and measurements of stiffener locations (needing the ability to measure around curves and across skins in a program to plot these, seeing that they are measured across the real subjects skin) and some original drawings of specific items e.g. one cockpit frame, fuselage frame stiffeners cross section, some flanges, torsion rods etc, engine bulkhead to name a few.