Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

help!!tank motion simulation

G

i am a sw beginner...i've got two questions:

1) for a car motion simulation, which part should be defined as ground part since the whole car is moving?

2) how to define the motion of a track? it does not make sense to attach it to a wheel.
smiley19.gif

many many thanks

yeah, thank you, Gary. I have been to that web site but am still comfused about the track's motion.....hope i can figure it out soon...
smiley11.gif

cheers

I was a tank mechanic in the US Army at one point in my life. Think of the track on a tank as nothing more than a gigantic CHAIN DRIVE.

Let me try to set up a picture for you to visualize. M48/M60 series tank, other tanks operate in a similar fashion. You are looking at the side of the tank oriented so that the front of the tank is to your left, the rear to your right. You have ONE DRIVE SPROCKET providing power to the chain, this is located in the upper right corner coming directly out of the engine. Rotation is counter clock wise to make the tank go forward. The track moves horizontally right to left along the top of a set of idler rollers. If you looked at the track in cross section, it lookes like the letter T because there is a vertical piece sticking down and riding in a groove between the sets ofinner and outer rollers to keep it fromskewing.