Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Flat Pattern to CAM whats the best way??

RMS1

Hi ALL!

Well we are experimenting with SW, its not our main drafting package but we usually export an .IGS file to our CAM software called FlowPath by Majestic but we are having trouble with the .IGS file coming out of SW its not even a close representation of the part when we look at it in the CAM software!

Now I am still new at SW so maybe I am not going through all the correct steps. When I unfold my part it still seems to be a 3D part but just unfolded, am I supposed to then convert this into a 2D unfold, before I save as an .IGS?

-any ideas on how we should do this?

Thanks
Edited by: RMS1

When a file is in it's unfolded state and saved as an IGES file, it is a flat 3D file.

When the same file is in a drawing and saved as an IGES file, it is a flat 3D file. (can' be done in Solidworks), but can be in other programs.

When the same file is in a drawing and saved as a DXF file, it is a flat 2D file.

Maybe your question should be to the folks at FlowPath by Majestic.

good luck
smiley32.gif

If "Flowpath" can accept DXF's this is by far the most common format used, at least for the flat pattern to be cut. If you create a 1:1 Solidworks drawing view of the flat pattern and then save as a dxf itwill come out to scale.

ttraser said:
When a file is in it's unfolded state and saved as an IGES file, it is a flat 3D file.

When the same file is in a drawing and saved as an IGES file, it is a flat 3D file. (can' be done in Solidworks), but can be in other programs.

When the same file is in a drawing and saved as a DXF file, it is a flat 2D file.

Maybe your question should be to the folks at FlowPath by Majestic.

good luck
smiley32.gif