Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

done in pro/e..attempting in solidworks..

TWINTURBOTOM

I'm a pro/E pro that is new to solidworks.... to start... I constantly use equations to drive curves...solidworks seems to lack this ability...i have found a nice macro that allows me to input curves but it doesn't seem to work in 3D...which i need for the housing on this part (done in pro/e)

neworiented.jpg

main questions:

1)create a 3D curve driven by an equation (for the volute, turbo housings tube)

2) vary a dimension with in across section as it travelsa pathwithout using guide curves

if anyone could do something similar and send it ove i'd love to learn from it.... [email protected]

i was also thinking of a way to possibly "blend" one cross section to the next as below...it won't rebuild though.... any insight on this type of procedure?? i guess it would be a loft using two profiles and guides.... i tried a sweep but it didn't like each section being on the same sketch...i'll try another way... thanks guys!!

turbo_housing-0000.jpg

any advice on the part shown above? idid that in relatively no time at all so i'm hoping solidworks will be as easy...