Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

turning a wire-frame into a solid part

cro.fabrication

I'm curious if it's possible to draw a wire frame on multiple planes and have Solidworks 3 dimensionally spline them together to form a solid shell?

Also, in attacking things from a different angle, how can one create a multiple plane wire frame from a 3d part?

I am very new to Solidworks, but seem to be picking it up at a decent pace. I am running 2006, but 2007 is available to play with if necessary.

Thanks!

Chris Orth

Chris, why are you using wireframe? Is this an autocad question?

If you have a wireframe sketch you can extrude that 2D section to create any such solid.

Steve

Chris, Steve is right if you have simple 2-D wireframes. In that case it is easier to just use normal methods to create the part, but I have found that if you have complex shapes with blending curves starting with the wireframe is best. Creating fillets does not always achieve the desired goals. The way I have accomplished what you are talking about is using surfaces. I create the wireframe and then use surfaces to "skin" the frame. When I have covered the entire object I knit it together and form a solid. I have found that I get better control of lofting and sweeping under the surface menu then under the solid menu.

On your multiplne wire frame, you start by creating all the planes you feel will be necessary for your wireframe. Then you create a 3d sketch and draw your wire frame. While in a 3d-sketch you can choose different planes to draw on and mate the entities to that. I prefer to create as many individual 2D sketche as I can on the required planes and only Use the 3d sketch for complex curve lines to connect the 2-d Sketches.

I hope this helps. I can try and explain it better if you need.

Shawn