Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

import descriptions from Excel?

Audra

I have been using SolidWorks for about three months. The engineer who has been helping me taught me to follow our company standards from the beginning, so I've included a description every time I've saved a part. Unfortunately, not everyone has done that in the past, and we have thousands of parts that don't have descriptions.

We are using IPA, an animation program, to make our parts manuals, and if the description is in the SolidWorks file, it will be displayed in the IPA graphic. I'd rather not have to do this one at a time, though.

All of our part numbers have their associated descriptions in our PDM
system, and I could easily export that data into an Excel spreadsheet. I'm looking for a way to import that data into SolidWorks.

Does anyone have a macro that would import this type of data from an Excel file? Or, maybe someone has a different idea to accomplish what I need?

Thanks!
Audra

Audra,

Ido not haveno solution for your problem but i have a thought.

If i recieve files from other companies i use the SolidworksTaskScheduler for inserting customproperties fields in those files. I use these custom properties for information in my drawings.

Maybe you can try to update your description field directly from your PDM system(I 'don't know that because i'm not using PDM)

I'm thinking you better get in touch with your SolidWorks supplier for an answer on this subject because it's very specific.

With regards

Joop

Hi Joop,

I contacted them, and they didn't know of a way to do it. They suggested that someone may have written a macro to do this, and that I ask around for that.

I'll be taking an advanced course in a couple of weeks, so maybe I will get some answers there.

Thanks,
Audra