Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Replacing a part in assembly config.

Stugots

SW2006

I am creating assembly configurations in which there are 3 parts and each part has multiple configs.

My problem is, Iwant to replace one of the main parts with another completely different part without it changing in all the configs. Here is how I am attempting this so you can tell me what I am doing wrong.

In Feature Manager in the .asm I highlight the part I want to replace. File\replace\browse\"part"\enter. Now I realize there is a "ALL INSTANCES" toggleunderSelection, which I assume does what it says, but I don't have this selected yet it does it anyway.

I am still learning SolidWorks, so please explain in detail.
Edited by: Stugots

If you had 3 of the part in question in the assembly and then chose not to change all instances then only the part selected gets changed not the other two to the other part.
This command does not remove the part from one configuration it removes it from all of them. What you want to do is below.

If you want to change the part in just one configuration of the assembly (key here is one configuration of the assembly then 'suppress' the part in that configuration and add the new one, then when you go to the other configurations the new part should be suppressed and the old part unsupressed, if this is not the case then change the supression state of each part in each configuration to what you want.

Ben

Thanks for your reply Ben,