Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Drawing a cut from Excel data

jlander82

Hi, I'm new to the forum here and have looked around for an answer to this question, but have not yet found an answer. I'm a university student working on a design project and would really appreciate some input, especially since I am better aquainted with Pro/E than with solidworks.

Here is my scenario: I have an excel file of a few hundred points (in polar coordinates) that need to be imported into solidworks for a complexcam profile. I'd rather not enter them all manually, so I am wondering if there is a way to take my excel data and translate it into a drawing so that I can cut out a profile from there.

I hope this is enough information... Any responses would be great.

-Justin

Hi Justin:

I had a similar problem, but it didn't use polar coordinates:

Create your feature setting up the dimensions you want to control. You may want to name them to make it easier.

Create a single configuration of your partusing Insert> Design Table. You'll then select those dimensions you want to control form the list. If they are not listed, you'll have the opportunity to select them from your part just before the table is created.

You'll then import your data as a single row (1 column for each dimension).

You mayhave to convert your polar dimensions into the Cartesian system, but if you're careful in how you set up your sketch, you shouldn't have to.

It may be tedious setting up your cut, but once it's done, you'll be able to quickly create many different variations (configurations) by importing the Excel data.

Hope this helps.

Peter
Edited by: SSLaser