Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Mating spherical shapes

TBuerkle

Im new to solidworks.. what im tring to do is create a working spherical bearing.. when i try to mate these 2 spherical shapes it doesnt give me a choice on a type.. of mate.. any sugestions? Thanks TOM

You could try a cam mate under advanced mates, or the simplest way would be a distance mate of the radius from the center of the spheres. If you have the planes in a good place, just mate the plane as necessary.

Simply do a coincident mate to the centers of the two spherical
features. If you're inserting this bearing into another assembly,
remember to set it to "flexible" for it to allow the ball to pivot in
the socket.

Hi

I'm having the same problem and have now spent about 2 days trying to resolve this. I am trying to insert a bearing into another spherical shape.

Most of the mates do not work , for example you cannot highlight the outside of the bearing in order to create a mate.

From the above, i understand that if i can mate the dead centre of both spheres and then create a distance - this would possibly work.

Can someone, please - PLEASE! take me through step by step on what options i need to click on to highlight the centre of the spheres and then create suitable mates - to make this work

Also, when i right click on a part i only ever seem to have the option to FIX not FLEXIBLE -

Thanks in advance

Soory - that doesn't really help as all surfaces have been close together

could someone take me step by step how you do this PLLLEEEEAAASSSSSEE!

I am desperate

Insert > Reference geometry > Plane

You can insert as many planes as you wish with specific angles, distances... And they could help you in mating. If not, let me know, I ll try to help, I'm in a hurry now!

smiley17.gif