Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Ramp design

rcgoodfellow

Hello, I am hoping some of you may help me. I am new to SolidWorks, and I am attempting to do a pretty big project. Basically, there are 2 platforms, separated by 1 metre. There is no specified distance between the platform, I need to optimize this. We are not allowed to have edges, so we cannot have a straight ramp between the platforms, thus it is like an S flipped on its side. The angle must be about 11 degrees. I am taking the arc tangent for about 11 degrees and extending it 0.5 metre from the top platform, and then doing another curved in the opposite direction, and connecting the platforms. Underneath this crazy ramp, there is a truss extended directly from platform to platform. I am wondering if Solidworks can automate this process, and optimize it so the angle stays 11 degrees, but the horizontal distance between platforms is as small as possible. I realize this is very confusing, and I will try to clarify for you as much as possible.I appreciate any help you can offer me!

Ryan Goodfellow

Have you got a simple representation of what your trying to achieve i.e drawing etc. as the above is as you said confusing! some futher info and I might be able to help you!

I'll keep my eye on the forum mate

Good luck!
smiley17.gif

http://www.kingston-waterfront.com/ramp.JPG