Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

section view

karayelh

hi

i am new in solidworks. In solidworks, what i want to do is to create a section view of my model, but when i use "Section View" it only works with the inner part of my model. i can not deal with this problem.

Also this problem occurs when i use "Make drawing from part/assambly". i can only make the inner part of my model 2D, the outer part does not appear...

My model has two parts: the inner and outer part. i ve created thecylindrical shapesby using "Revolve" two times and the holes are created by "Extruded Cut".
2005-06-30_055307_enjection1.jpg

Hi Karayel,

nice to see you could attach a photo! It may be that bmcelyea is right, that the problem is because the part is based on a revolve (or 2 revolves) and not an extrude (or 2 extrudes).

The part is not too difficult to model starting from extrudes based on sketches of the outer and inner circles (e.g. outer and inner diameters of the outer and inner parts - or e.g. the outercircle in the first sketchcould be the full width of the flange and then cut material away with a cut extrude to get the wall thickness for the part).

Is it an assembly or a multibody part? If I was modelling it I think I would make an assembly i.e. make one single part first, based on an extrude (based on a sketch of 2 circles). Then I would save that with a name, but not close Solidworks. Then I would start a new assembly, and insert the already made part as the first part in the assembly, and with the same origin.