Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

SolidWorks to Pro/E

mgnt8

I'm a Pro/E user new to SolidWorks. I've got an IGES file from SW that I'm trying to bring into Pro/E butfile size istoo big, around 87 mb. Its a fairly complicated part but nothing on it leads me to believe it would bea fraction of thatif it was modeled in Pro/E. I'm told that the SW default accuracy is 1E-08. I don't know much about SW but if I modeled a part in Pro/E with accuracy so low, it would be huge. Does anyone know if accuracy in SW parts or imports can be adjusted down for easier translation to Pro/E? Why is the SW default accuracy so low?

If your going from Solidworks to Pro-E, just save the file in Pro-E format. Solidworks has that option in the save as dialog box.

I've found that your SW translator doesn't do so well for models with more than a few basic features. STEP is a lot better. Model accuracy in Pro/E is pretty important but for SW it doesn't seem to be a big deal. There is obviously a fundamental difference somewhere. Anybody out there have any suggestions for a smoother SW export (i.e smaller file)?

I've seen 1E-8 stated a few times, asked a few times ...

Is that 1E-8 meters across the board; e.g. regardless of model units?

... and am still clueless. Anyone help a confused old codger?

I ussually just save files as proe format in solidworks (do you have the software) and dont ussually have any problems and this is with parts with 30+ features. If you dont i'd go with mgnt8 in saying the step should be the weapon of choice and quite frankly I find IGES a pain in the arse!

Paul Cunningham

not to sure about the accuracy issues will look into it!