Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

How good is Pro E?

nkpham

I am relatively new to Pro E and was wondering how it compares to all the other programs out there. The other departments in my university use AutoCAD and Solidworks. I am the first to try to learn how to use Pro E. If it turns out to be a good program, it might become the new standard.

Also, how long did it take all of you to become comfortable with the program? I've been working with it for about five weeks and am still running into problems everyday.

First let me just say that this can be an easy yet complicated question to answer. I learned pro/e after having a prior education in designing (A.S. Degree) and experience with other CAD software like AutoCAD while on the job, and found it to be relatively easy to use after my PTC 5-day training course, for the basic usage.

Although it was easy for me, it may not be so for everyone, as i had a basis to reference when learning Pro/E and additional courses for more advanced techniques of Pro/E later on. It is easy to learn for the basic feature creation for parts and simple assembly of those parts for assy models, but other techniques and abilities of Pro/E (which are almost limitless, due to optional modules, add-ons that PTC provides) can be stressful for most to master, and only is fully appreciated over time and use. Simply put...you won't be completely comfortable with Pro/E after just 5 weeks, but with some professional instruction and some simple design background knowledge, you could be using it right awayfor simple features...say 2 weeks worth of practice to get started.