Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Cable Routing question

larry-o_1

I often need to wrap wiresaround cylinders or hold a bend radius.I usually need to create pointsand "connect the dots" to do this.
<DIV></DIV>
<DIV>Is it possible to be able to follow a Datum Curve ? I've tried looking for a way and cant. Any suggestions ?</DIV>
<DIV></DIV>
<DIV>Thanks</DIV>
<DIV>(I am self-taught)</DIV>

Hi Larry,

I usually teach the use of top down design utilizing surfaces in space (outside a heat shield for example) with an intersection (a curve) for a cable to route. Then Ill use a 'network' path (red/purple dashed lines) for a cable route to follow thru the curves.

If you wanted to hold a 4" bend radius you can make that setting in the spool file.... combined with the top down method above to guarantee your minimum bend radius.

kaw605.jpg

cant see the autoroute-able dashed line in this picture due to shading on. But notice the Transparent green surface. On that surface rests the 'network opps' for the cables and wires to follow.

kawrsd01.jpg

This image is the RSD file that is used to auto route the wires.Notice the Splices are not showing in the lamp assembly yet.

These screen shots are a part of my Abstract for speaking at the PTCUSER conference in Orlando BTW.
Edited by: design-engine

Hi Bart,

OK, sounds like it is possible. However is do not have an RSD file.

What I am attempting in this model is to loop a piece of fiber optic. I set the min bend rad to 1.00 inches the spool. The length I need to loop is 10.81 inches.

By adding 3 points to the Curve I still "fall off" the shape I desire. I suppose I can add many more points, but that seems counter productive to me. I have also tried to FIX the length, but that made it lop-sided.

Thanks,

Larry-O

Larry,