Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Bend Deduction

boydt

I am new to Pro/Sheetmetal. Although I have been using Pro for 4yrs. I am designing a lot of sheetmetal parts with bends, my bend shop asked that if I could supply the bend deduction values it would help him out. My questions is: Will Pro give this info? if so how?

Thank You

There are several controls (inputs) that affect the resultant flat pattern for a given material thickness.

Working at MEP in Laval Canada for a while, their manufacturing engineer(s) helped me to interpolate/extrapolate specific values (inputs) thought to give us the closest measurable output of the finished parts. We focused on internal bend radii and initial bend Y factor and k factor for the few selected stock thicknesses of sheetmetal that were being formed on break presses after being cut with Laser metal cutters, or Finn Power, Amada Punches, or Strippit Tooling.