Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

design/mold mfg lead time

jogars1965

I am a mold designer designing average to complex single cavity, 2~4 slides diecast mold for 135~350ton machine. my mold design covers splitting, core/mold design, mold assembly, electrode design, cavity and electrode toolpathing, and mfg drawings all in ProE. With the advent of new technologies what is the acceptable design lead time for this process, and what is the acceptable mold manufacturing lead time now adays? Can anybody give me some ideas.

Hi jogars,

Not a day goesby when my factory is not working on or laying down new tooling from the designs I give them. These range from Injection Mouldings to Die-Castings.

Obviously complexity of the design/part hasa say in scheduling lead times. What I can tell you though, is that as a general rule of thumb with my supplier is that I expect to see first-off tool samples within 12 - 16 weeks. Some of the less complicated objects will often reach my desk within 8-10 weeks and a more complex die with side core movement etc could be upto 24 weeks.

As usual with tooling, you can never tell if/when its going to go bad lol, sometimes there are exeptions to my general rule of thumb
smiley36.gif

thanks for your reply, I was just wondering if I am stillcompetitive enough as manufacturing leadtimes of moldsare now becoming less and less with the coming of new technologies

Hi Skint,

I agree that the manufacturing leadtime depends on the complexity of the design part as well as the mold design itself, but if we just put into consideration the mold design alone, excluding the total mold manufacturing time, what would be theacceptable and competitivelead time in designing molds be it simple or complex?