Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Random Vibration

Tunalover

Does Mechanica do dynamic shock and vibraton? I'm new to this tool and have a general need to analyze things that will see half-sinewave shock pulses, sine-sweep vibration, and random vibration (PSD profiles of my own design)? Does Mechanica handle damping? If so, where does one get damping values for various materials?

Lastly, does Mechanica do transient thermal problems?

Thanks in advance for your expert tips! I apologize for the wide open quesitons, but my software (Student Edition) came without documentation on capability.

Tunalover

Yes - to both.

For dynamic analysis (frequency response, shock loading, etc) select Mechanica | Structure | Analyses, and select the appropriate analysis type.

For transient thermal analysis, go to Mechanica | Thermal, and select either steady-state or transient thermal analysis.

However, I have to admit I too am somewhat stumped by how to get the kind of results output I would like from dynamic analysis - for example, I am having trouble producing time-displacement plots. It keeps telling me that there are no suitable measures defined. Does anyone know how to tell Mechanica that displacements or stresses are measures I wish to track, so that I can plot them as a function of elapsed time? Are there any good tutorials for basic dynamic analysis in Mechanica Integrated mode?

(Using Pro/M 2001 Student Edition)

All help greatly appreciated.

Found the answer to my own question!

You have to define a Measure prior to comencing the dynamic analysis. Eg define a number of Datum Points at key vertices of the model, then define one or more Measures such as displacement or stress at selected datum points.