Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Multi "Cut to length" parts in Assemblies

jefferyanderson

Hello All.
I'm new to Pro/E and so far I'm loving it. I'm really starting to get the hang of it but one thing I need help on is handling of "cut to length" parts.

A few examples of what I mean are: ready-rod, unistrut, din rail, panduit, rebar, aluminum extrusions, etc.

Anything that you want controlled in all but one axis - I use 2 inches of x material here, 4 inches of x material here, 2 feet of x material here - all within the same assembly.

I would like the key parameters to be controlled by a family table (width, depth, etc) because some of these come in variations, but I need to insert multiple instances of this part into my assembly, each with a different length.

What is the best way to accomplish this?
I'd still like the ability to change a width/depth feature or dimension on the "parent/generic" part and have that reflected in all of the instances of it.

Thanks and Best Regards,
Jeff

Jeff,
if your parts are only cut to length, you can use a family table.
If they need further modifications, use them as start parts. If your drawings have the same name as your parts and the config.pro option rename_drawings_with_objects is set to both the drawings of your new parts will be created automatically.
ReinhardN
edit: provided your start part has a drawing of the same name

Edited by: ReinhardN

From how I read what your trying to do I think a nested Family Table is in order. For example if you have a series of rods of different diameters and lengths, you create one family table that has the diameters, than in each instance you would make a family table in each instance of the lengths, which can be easily done if you want them in increments by using the patternize option.