Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

BOM tables & balloons

barismarinos

I've created a new assembly(-4.asm)from an existing assembly (-1.asm) to a previously-created drawing whichreferences twoother similar-except-for-a-few-different-partsassemblies. This is a 3-sheet drawing created by an employee no longer with this company. This previous user createda BOM table (on SHEET 1) that contains two columns which drive the balloons in various views on the other sheets. I'd like to add a column for my new assembly (-4) with Balloons only for the parts that are different than the other assmblies shown in its view. How can I modify the existing table to do this? I'm new in Wildfire and have had limited training which didn't cover BOM table and related balloons.

It seems as though you need to add a parameter to the "different" parts. Then run some kind of an if loop to check for the parameter. If the parameter exists, then you'll use that column for your part's information and BOM balloon.

Unfortunately, I couldn't tell you in detail how to do this. I'll keep thinking about it, see if I can find anything.

You could add different repeat region tables to drive different assemblies. One method will be to create a new repeat region table, then add the new model to the drawing properties /drawing models. And then add this model to drive your new repeat region tabel, tabel / repeat region / model_rep and select the new model.

You say you have a single table on the first sheet that has different columns to drive different assy's. Then I'm thinking of inserting a new column, then make a new repeat region in that column, and set the new model to drive this new column. And then filter the parts you don't need.