Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Mold cavity update problem

mjenkins

I am trying to update a mold cavity and it has a small surface that has a problem. The error says it has overlapping geometry, when I try to regen the ref.prt.

I am very new to the mold software and I am not sure if I am following the correct procedure. If I am I'm not sure how to correct the problem with the surface.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

hi

in my view and from my experience

i don,t think that pro-e updatesa big change in the component to the mold design

it just updates the simple changes like width or height

i alsoface same problems during updation

Take a look at you parting line, and then redefine your parting surface, and from my point of view proe does updates ver well, for example when I'm designing a family of molds that are close similar I only do one master and the Proe redefine all ofthefamily.All depends on the way you-re modelling

Could you plaese post a picture of your problem

Pablo

hi

this is bound to happen when you are using an imported geometry as your ref. part or when you have not defined accuracy settings in pro-e

for the first case, there is a lengthy solution, that is, you have to re model the ref. part in pro-e environment, to match the imported geometry, and use that as the ref. part.

you must start using "Absolute accuracy" by default. you can do this by enabling accuracy with config.pro

go to TOOLS menu and select OPTIONS, you will be provided with the config window. start typing "enable" and click the find button, you will be given a list of enableable items. choose " enable absolute accuracy" and choose "yes", apply changes and click OK