Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

CV Joint Mechanism

soboyle

I have very little experience with Mechanism, and yet I am trying to assemble a custom designed CV joint, which is a very complex joint. Can someone lay down some ground rules for mechanism for me, since I am running into what seem like assembly problems. I keep getting the error "The mechanism constraints can not be satisfied. The Mechanism can not be assembled." when I try to run a mechanism analysis. It seems like mechanism doesnt like more than one constraint on these joints, and I cant capture the motion I need with one constraint.

OK, so maybe my first question was too general, here is a specific problem I am having; I'm using a pin constraint, but I need additional contraints to reference an assembly axis to hold the part in its correct position while in motion, but each time I try to add a constraint in addition to the PINto any assembly features using ball, cylinder etc,I get the dreaded warning"The mechanism constraints can not be satisfied. The Mechanism can not be assembled." Any suggestions on how to make reference to assembly fetures like axis or datums that wont lock the motion? There must be a trick to this? In wildfire 3 there is a General constraint, can these be used and still maintain motion?

Q. There must be a trick to this? In wildfire 3 there is a General constraint, can these be used and still maintain motion?

Ans. yes

just attach your parts/assembly and I will fix it for you.

Israr