Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Ideal laptot for a "poor" student

bob_dylan

Hi everyone. I am a student from the Czech republic and i am going to get a new laptop(primarly for Autocad, Inventor 10 and for Pro Engineer W2 and W3) I have pretty much decided which one i am going to buy but need a little help. My 2 choices are: Asus F2j - 1Gb Ram, Core duo 2.4, Ati x1400 Graphic card and a maximum resolution of the display is 1400x1000. the second laptop is asus A6t- Turion 64x2, 1Gb ram, the max resolution is 1280x800 and it's graphic card is Nvidia 7600.
MY question is: should i choose Asus F2j(better display but worse graphic card) or Asus A6t(worse display but a really good graphic card).
I know that there are better laptops on the market but i cant simply afford a laptop more expensive than +-1500bucks.
Thanx for your replies and advices. I would appreciate if you told me somethin about your laptops and how well Pro Engineer runs on it.
Thanks again. Bob_dylan
Edited by: bob_dylan

Firstly you didnt need to mention "poor"... Stating "student" automatically means you are poor. (Trust me, I know too)

I do not know the models you mention so I cant recomend. The core duo is a better CPU then the AMD though. 1280x800 is fine I reckon.

Id make sure you get 1x1GB rather then 2x512MB as you will wanna upgrade the RAM to 2GB very quickly.

Both those machines will run it well enough for a student, maybe the Intel one a bit better due to CPU.

To answer your question, I think GPU is more important then display, but the CPU is more important then both of them.

Have you considered Dell online?

Well, of course i have looked for some Dell laptops but i havent found any around 1500dollars.is there any you could recommend me?

No I cant recomend any to you, Im un informed of laptops.